Qlik Introduces a New Era of Visualization! READ ALL ABOUT IT
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

user defined function issue

Hey all,

first off all I am quite new to the QlikView Community and still only have a basic knowledge in the use of QlikView. I am reading temperature and humidity data from a database. I can show all the values in diagramms and so on, no problem. But now I want to create a user defined function to calculate the total amount of water in the air. Therefore I have a formular:

0.622 * (rel. hum * saturated vapour pressure) / (air pressure - rel. hum * saturated vapour pressure)

To test the function I use a fix value for saturated vapour pressure at 20°C = 2337

I built following function in QlikView:

0.622 & '*' & (Only({$} $1) & '*' & 2337) & '/' & (101300 & '-' & Only({$} $1) & '*' & 2337)

Now I want to use this function in a diagramm, so that for every value of a dimension the function Only() picks its value. But it doesn't work How can i fix this? I would be very happy about any help! Thanks a lot.

BR

Henrik

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Not applicable
Author

IN LOAD SCRIPT WRITE:

SET YourFomulaName= Num(0.622 * ( $1  *  $2 )   / (($3-  $1)  * $2));

Let's say your dimension's name is RELHUM

then in the expression

=$(YourFormulaName(RELHUM,2337,101300))

Note: no need for {$} as it implies the current selection by default.

check this thread

Calculating Months difference between two dates

View solution in original post

9 Replies
MarcoWedel

please post sample data/app

Peter_Cammaert
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

How and where do you call your user-defined function?

Colin-Albert

Only(fieldname)  will return a value if the field has just one selected value. If the field has more than one value selected then only(fieldname) will return null.