Qlik Introduces a New Era of Visualization! READ ALL ABOUT IT
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Handling NULL values in flat file data source

Hello,

I am new in QlikView and I visit frequently the Qlik Community to look for help.

This time I didn't find a similar problem to mine, so I will expose it here hope I will find a solution.

I have a text file containing Null values. When opened with Notepad++, I can see the NULL mark.

The texte file is qualified by Field length which causes me a problem because I can't see the NULL marks when opening the file in QlikView.

The attached print screen shows the problem details.

Hope I well explain my problem.

Thanks in advance.

8 Replies
MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

Can you please load a sample file ?

Not applicable
Author

Hi Manish Kachhia,

I added the sample text file in attachment of my first message.

MK_QSL
MVP
MVP

Is this a single field? if not, what is the delimiter?

Not applicable
Author

I must split the file this way :

Field 1Field 2Field 3Field 4Field 5
Azerty30XYZ
1111Test00115ABC

Field 1 : 4 charcaters,

Field 2 : 7 characters,

Field 3 : 2 characters,

Field 4 : 3 characters,

Field 5 : 3 characters.

JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

i don't think Qlik can find/replace these NULLs in the script.  I tried loading the file through an ODBC text driver, but it reacts in the same way and i haven't found SQL that can pick up NULL values within a field,  but you can use the coalesce() function to replace a field whose entire value is NULL with something else.

So backing up a bit... what exactly do you need to read these NULLS for  ?  does each NULL represent an empty value for field ?  In this case as Manish asked above, i would suggest creating a delimiter in the source file ... could be any character . 

MK_QSL
MVP
MVP