Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Create first report

Hi, all!

I'm totally new to Qlik/QuickBooks Advanced Reporting.  I've gone through the beginning tutorial, but feel like I need to create a couple reports/graphs before I continue with the tutorials for me to get the most out of them.  I'm hoping maybe you can help me create a very basic bar graph so that I can start understanding how to work with expressions, dimensions, etc.

Our chart of accounts for income includes a couple major categories, one of which is Product Sales, and then under Product Sales, in our chart of accounts, we have about 10 sub-accounts for each of the major product lines. 

How would I create a bar chart that would show, in $s, the revenue for each of the 10 Product Sales sub-accounts for the YTD through the last month, please?  So a bar for each of the 10 sub-accounts.  I

Thank you very much for any help you can provide to get me started with using Qlik to do Advanced Reporting in QuickBooks.

Mary

7 Replies
effinty2112
Master
Master

Hi Mary,

First things first, have you written a load script that gets the data from QuickBooks into QlikView? I'll assume you have and this is the simplest way I can think of to get your chart.

Create your bar chart, suggest in the style tab you pick horizontal style. This can be very effective when you sort from largest values at the top to the lowest (in the sort tab select sort by Y-value). Also the horizontal orientation makes it easy to accommodate labels and data values should you want to show these.

For your dimension choose your sub-account field, for your expression Sum(Sales).