Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Community Office Hours - Bring your Ideation questions- May 15th, 11 AM ET: REGISTER NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
radissoufan
Contributor
Contributor

is total time loading from qvd and to qvd files is better than loading data direct to qlik

hello,,

I'm new to qlik and I heard that we can use the QVD file to load large data to qlik...

that make me wonder.. is it really??

loading 6 Million records directly on qlik take me almost 30 min...

but from qvd, wow it take only 1 second to load it..

but the problem that loading data from source to qvd file takes also 30 min...

so both methods are the same...

can anyone explain to me what is the benefit of using (full cycle [read and write to qvd]) over (direct load) to qlik 

ami missing something...?

Labels (1)
6 Replies
kaushiknsolanki
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,

It is recommended to use QVD for loading the data.

There are many advantages.

1. As you know, its faster

2. You can do incremental load.

3. You can use single QVD in multiple applications and make development faster.

and so on.

Please remember to hit the 'Like' button and for helpful answers and resolutions, click on the 'Accept As Solution' button. Cheers!
radissoufan
Contributor
Contributor
Author

about the first point ,,,

"its faster"

how time much it takes to load 40M records "TO" QVD file??? all of type number!

MikeW
Creator
Creator

If all you are doing is load from source and then be done, then it makes no difference. Qvd, being fast, gives you flexibility of better organizing and modularizing your application. For example you can test quick changes without having to load from source for 30min and also have subsequent logic reuse the qvd. It just gives you more options. I found it to be helpful for most nontrivial apps, but I use QDF quite a bit so qvds are almost always needed.
marcus_sommer