Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Sending QVW file

Hi

First of all my appologies if this sounds foolish, i am very new to QV, sort of just started working on it yesterday.

I downloaded a personal edition and created a file .qvw using excel data.

After this, i sent just the .qvw to someone with personal edition. he is not able to view the data and on reload it throws error no data file found in the path.

Is it always necessary to send the data file alongwith? can QV not hold data in the same file?

How can i send the data in the file itself? or still better, how can the other person view the data in the file that i sent?

Also, how can i export the enitre look and feel onto PDF? when i export to XL, it just takes the data. Could i take the entire graphs and same visual to excel for sending it to the users?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks & Regards

Sujata Singh

6 Replies
maxgro
MVP
MVP

with a personal edition you can only open the qvw you created

read here for detail

Personal Edition FAQs

Q:

Is it always necessary to send the data file alongwith? can QV not hold data in the same file?

A:

Yes, Qlikview can hold data in the same file

Q:

Also, how can i export the enitre look and feel ont............

A:

for a single chart, right click on it and print or print to pdf

same for a sheet (right click on the sheet, not an object) and print....

Not applicable
Author

Many thanks for your quick help @Massimo!

This was very helpful.

So all my issues relate to the limitations of the personal edition !

I just wish it had atleast basic read only capability for others to see how the data would look like when qvw is sent.

This edition doesnt seem to answer basic questions like :-

• can we lock the data
  • do we need to send the data file explicitly
  • do others need to have have same connections

But this is what it is!