Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

How to determine which QVD is being used?

Hello,

I'm a SQL DBA/Developer and am new to Qlikview.  I'm looking for some help here.

I'm given some Qlikview apps to support.  I want to know how I can determine which QVD file is used by a specific

worksheet in the Qlikview workbook.  For example, I have a QVW file which contains 5 tabs (maybe call worksheet

in QV?).  Sorry if my terminology isn't correct.  If I go to Edit Script, I can see 5 different QVD files being used

to load the data for this app.  Let's say I have these 5 tab/worksheets in the QVW file:  1) Finance 2) Accouting 3) Expense

4) Profit and 5) Loss and let's say the QVD files are named ffile01.qvd, file02.qvd and etc...

My question is: if I click on 2) Accounting to see the all charts on this sheet which was developed by someone else,

how can I tell which QVD file is associated with all the charts on the screen?  I've looked through all the possible menu

options, context-menu options and didn't see anything that would tell this.

Thank you

10 Replies
Chanty4u
MVP
MVP

hi

check that option sheet.JPG

datanibbler
Champion
Champion

Hi Sydney,

that is kind of difficult if the fields are not qualified and you thus cannot tell with exactitude which table a specific field comes from.

In the short-term - I don't really have any good ideas, you'll have to somehow search for the connections manually, using the Table_Viewer - I think you can export the structure of all the tables you have and the corresp. fields to a file.

(once you have done that, I'd recommend adding some respective comments to the charts)

In the long term - well, generally qualifying all the fields would be a solution, but then that's not really practical (the field_names get so long that you cannot recognize them in the preview of a table).