Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to allow the user to select filter options

Hello,

I am new to Qlikview so maybe this is easy to do and I just cannot find the way to handle it.

My situation is that I have a large number of sales records. One of the aggregate values I need to show is an average of the rate paid for like units. This is not a problem. The problem comes in because there are a large number of valid records where the price is zero.

What I cannot find out how to do is to give the user the option to exclude from all result sets and calculations everywhere any sales record with a zero unit cost.  There are times when these records belong in the view and others when it does not. I want to give the user the option to include zero dollar units or to exclude them and i cannot find out how.

There is a demo which looks like it might do something like this (SnowView) but I am using the evaluation version and for some reason that one demo app requires a licensed copy to open it.  Along the same lines if anyone has a answer, please explain it. I will not be able to open any samples you send me until i can prove this product does what we need and I get the licensed version.

TIA,

Matthew Fleck

3 Replies
jaime_aguilar
Partner - Contributor III
Partner - Contributor III

You can achieve that by creating a calculated field in script,

Let's suppose you have an Excel file with 2 columns: Products and Price. Some products have a price > 0, others have exactly zero. Then with and If you create a field so you can select zero values and non-zero values.

So if you try to run the following script you'll have a field that will allow you to filter the products you want. Besides as a note, on charts you have to disable in the presentation tab, the option called suppress zero-values so you can see zero values if you use sum(Price) as an expression on any table/chart