Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Introduces a New Era of Visualization! READ ALL ABOUT IT
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How can I create a simple date scatter chart?

Hello, I am new to BI world and QlickView. I have a basic table of Tasks and their respective Due Dates. I want to display a scatter chart to plot the "densities" of tasks with upcoming due dates (in 3 month intervals starting Now).

I want the Dimension(s) to be.....[this is where I am stuck]
I want the X axis to be time in 3 month increments (ex. 3Mos, 6Mos, 9Mos, 12Mos)
I want the Y axis to be......[this is where I am also stuck but I am guessing this would be days from 1-31]

So essentially the chart would show me dots as far out as 12 months from now based on Due Date. Can anybody give me some tips on how to accomplish this and how to configure the chart wizard?

Thanks
Steve

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Steve,
I doubt that the scatter chart is what you need.
Scatter charts (no matter QV or not) is useful to show correlation between two measures. For example, you want to see correlation between people's height and weight - one axes is height another weight (both are expressions), and person id or name is dimension.
Try to put on paper what you want to see, I'm sure you'll come up with a more appropriate chart type.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Steve,
I doubt that the scatter chart is what you need.
Scatter charts (no matter QV or not) is useful to show correlation between two measures. For example, you want to see correlation between people's height and weight - one axes is height another weight (both are expressions), and person id or name is dimension.
Try to put on paper what you want to see, I'm sure you'll come up with a more appropriate chart type.

Not applicable
Author