cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dawgfather
Creator
Creator

Date-time format lost after loading from QVD

I am new to using a QVD file and have run into something interesting. I have a check in place to see if the QVD file exists and if it does not, then run a SQL query to load it and then save it to a QVD file.

My SQL query has a field that is a datetime field from what I can tell and when the SQL loads I get results like:

10/22/2016 8:00:00 PM

10/1/2016 10:00:00 PM

...and all this is great. It is as I want it. But when I next run the reload it loads that same file from the QVD but then my chart details change and I end up with the following:

Why does loading it from the QVD change/alter the output?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Anil_Babu_Samineni

Sometimes it will happen

After reload the qvd you can use

Date(date#(datefield,'mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss tt'),'required')

Or

Date(num(datefield),'required format')

Best Anil, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Anil_Babu_Samineni

Sometimes it will happen

After reload the qvd you can use

Date(date#(datefield,'mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss tt'),'required')

Or

Date(num(datefield),'required format')

Best Anil, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful
marcus_sommer

I think you need to format your timestamp before storing the data into the qvd - maybe with a Preceding Load:

t:

load *, timestamp(datetime, 'MM/DD/YYYY hh:mm:ss TT') as DateTimeFormatted;

SQL select * From MySQL;

- Marcus

dawgfather
Creator
Creator
Author

Thank you...this worked, but I still do not understand why it works when the data is first pulled but after loading from the QVD instead of SQL, it changes.

Anil_Babu_Samineni