Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
brunolelli87
Creator II
Creator II

Creating a hypothesis testing

Good morning guys.

I'm studying some airlines behaviour and I would like to create a "hypothesis test".
In my DataBase I have some fields where four of them are: KEY, ORIGIN and DESTINATION.

Something like this:

KEYAIRLINEORIGINDESTINATION
0AW01A258ABCVCPSDU
00DW2A347CDEGRUPOA
0S03A374FGHCGHCWB
... ......
99ASD9AABCVCPREC
57S7SD7FGHCGHILS
ASD87ASCDEGRUMAO

So, my question is:
Is there any way to let the user to replace the ORIGIN and DESTINATION of flights?

Example: Replace all ORIGINS and ARRIVALS of the airline ABC from VCP to GRU.

Rational:
I'm counting the number of DISTINCT ROUTES (ORIGIN & " - " & DESTINATION) per airline.  And basically, each airline is operating on its own hub, and they are all really close. So, what if they were all the same airport. How many distinct routes each airline would be operating in this case? 

Is there any way to let the user to replace and test it? Or I'll have to do it via LOAD SCRIPT?

Thanks guys

4 Replies
edwin
Master II
Master II

if you are allowing the user to select an Airline and then let the user override the origin and/or destination, maybe a simple way would be just ignore the original and/or destination - whatever the user selects.

for example airline A has 4 flights, the original and destination can be different.  now the user selects a specific origin.  if i understand the ask you want all origins to be replaced by the chosen origin and then count the flights.  so regardless of what the new origin is the number of flights would not change so just count the flights.  you can still count distinct destinations.  now the problem is when the origin and destination are both changed - there will always only be one distinct count.  is there a business requirement that isnt specified that i am missing?

brunolelli87
Creator II
Creator II
Author

Hello Mr. @edwin , how are you?