cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bvrg2747
Contributor
Contributor

Qlikview distribution is down without distribution service

We have installed QVS ,QMS and DSC in single node  environment.

After installation QDS and QVWS is showing is disconnected.

In server only QVS and QMS and DSC services are there and they running successfully.

We have applied QVS server license.

With out distribution service and publisher license, Why QDS and QVWS are down ?

I am new to the Qlikview,Please help me with solution.

5 Replies
Sonja_Bauernfeind
Digital Support
Digital Support

Hello,

Based on the description, your QlikView system has the following services installed:

• QlikView Server Service (qvs)
  • QlikView Management Service (qms)
  • QlikView Directory Service Connector (DSC)

You did not install the:

• QlikView Distribution Service (QDS)
  • QlikView WebServer (QVWS)

Generally, especially in a single node environment, all the above services are required. 

For context:

The QlikView Distribution service is required to be installed with a QlikView Server especially if you do not have a Publisher license. The QlikView Server cannot execute reloads by itself. It needs the QDS to schedule and to be able to launch QVB.exe engines which carry out reloads.

If you had a Publisher license, you could install the QDS on a different machine. This is not the case in your instance. 

The QlikView Webserver hosts the AccessPoint and is required for end-user access with any of our user clients. AJAX, Plugin, Mobile version of AJAX. Unless you plan to only use the Desktop Client and Open in Server or to use the .qvw files directly on disk, the WebServer is required. Note: You can replace it with IIS, if that is your intent. But then you will install the QlikView Settings Service, which will be configurable in the Management Service just like the normal QlikView WebServer.