Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RobinK
Contributor II
Contributor II

Set Analysis - get the most recent record for each category

Dear Qlik Community,

I am fairly new to QlikSense and I could use some help here.
Lets say we have the following data:

Data:
LOAD * INLINE [
Quarter,Category,Sales
1,A,100
1,B,250
2,A,150
2,B,300
3,A,300
3,B,350
3,C,300
4,A,400
4,C,350
];

This table displays the total sales per category per quarter.
I now want to create a table, that shows the most recent sales for the selected quarter.

For example, if I filter by quarter 4, I want to see the following values:
- 400 for category A (value from quarter 4)
- 350 for category B (value from quarter 3)
- 350 for category C (value from quarter 4)

To get the quarter with the most recent record per category, i used the expression:
Max({1<Quarter={"<=$(=max(Quarter))"}>}Quarter)

And to get the sales value for the latest record i tried using the expression:
Only({<Quarter={'$(=Max({1<Quarter={"<=$(=max(Quarter))"}>}Quarter))'}>}Sales)

Here is a screenshot of the result:

Example.png

As you can see, the expected value for category B and quarter 3 is not displayed. It seems like the expression on the right hand side calculates the overall max quarter and not the max quarter per category.
Does anybody have an idea how this could work?

Many thanks in advance!

By the way, this is my first post ever. So if I did something wrong with the tags or something, please let me know 🙂

Labels (1)
8 Replies
hic
Former Employee
Former Employee

Set analysis is like a selection that is done BEFORE the chart is calculated. So it is not possible to have a selection of Quarter=3 for some categories and Quarter=4 for other categories.

I would use the following, knowing that it would exclude categories that were not sold the latest month:

Sum({<Quarter={'$(=Max(Quarter))'}>}Sales)

Note that I use 'Sum' instead of 'Only'.

Dataintellinalytics