Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Average of previous n values in script

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Qlikview but picking it up quickly but this query has me stumped, even after trawling the internet.

I have a table like the one below. What I would like to do is replace - with the average of the previous 2 weeks values for that location (in reality this will be the previous 6 values but just for the example I've selected 2 values). For example:

1) For location A in week 3 the value would be 0.4 ((0.2 + 0.6)/2).

2) For location B in week 2, because there is only one prior value in week 1 for location B (i.e. we would ignore week 3 as that is after week 2 which has the missing value), it would become that figure (0.3). Note the order of the data is not in location/week order to start with.

3) For location A week 4, the previous 2 values in the raw data are 0.6 and -. However, from example 1 above, the - is replaced with 0.4 now, so - would become 0.5 ((0.6+0.4)/2).

Hope that makes sense? I need to do this in the script as there are millions of rows of data and Qlikview calculating this takes a long time in charts. I don't want this value to change based on selections made anywhere else at all.

I've read things above peek and rangesum but can't get either to work. Any help is very much appreciated!

Thanks in advance

Kev

Location     Week     Unique No     Value

A               1               134               0.2

B               1               213               0.3

A               2               746               0.6

C               1               748               0.9

B               3               643               0.5

C               2               837               0.1

B               2               6478               -

A               3               7348               -