Apr 19, 2024 5:12:51 AM

Updated By:

Troy_Raney

Created date:

Apr 19, 2024 5:12:51 AM

Environment

• Qlik Sense Enterprise on Windows

Transcript

Hello everyone and welcome to the April edition of Techspert Talks. I'm Troy Raney and I'll be your host for today's session. Today's presentation is Migrating Qlik Sense Client-Managed with our own Sebastian Linser. Sebastian, why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself?
Hello, my name is Sebastian Linser. I'm a Principal Technical Engineer at Qlik Support. My main focus there is Qlik Sense Client-Managed, and I have been around with Qlik Support for 7 years now.
Great. Today Sebastian is going to be talking us through the whole process from start to finish when it comes to migrating Qlik Sense implementations from one environment to another; we're going to go through the whole backup process; he's going to demo that migration process; we're going to talk about certificates and highlight some best practices and things to be aware of. Sebastian, what are we going to be demonstrating today in detail?
So, we want to demonstrate how you migrate a Qlik Sense Client-Managed installation from one PC to another. So, in our case we have the scenario that we have a physical machine we need to get rid of; and we need to put it on a virtualized machine.
Okay, and we're going from the same operating system in both machines?
Yes, in our case Windows Server 2019.
So, basically when everything is finished; we should have the same apps, same tasks, everything running, but on different Hardware once we get finished?
Yes, that's the idea.
Great, can you share a little bit about your setup?
Yeah, I do have a Stand-Alone database on a server called Qlik Server 3 you can see it here in the Services list. We do have a PostgreSQL Service. Right now it's PostgreSQL 14.
Okay. So, this is the Repository Database storing all the settings for this implementation; and it's on its own machine?