Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Does anyone know how to create multiple rows in pivot table situations?

Hi,

I am relatively new to Qlikview and I have been set a challenge to generate an application around a recent survey conducted by my workplace.

My initial thoughts were to generate a pivot table that would have columns of data such as gender, ages, overall totals and percentages and then within the rows themselves I would build in the variety of questions and their options as detailed in the survey i.e. 'Q1: What did you think of this service?' - 'Option 1: Very good - Option 2: Good', etc..

Nothing is as straight forward as I had first thought as each time I add an additional question beneath existing row it basically adds it in a drill down format i.e. 'Q1: What did you think of this service?' followed by 'Question 2' which is added as a sub category of question 1 where as I want it to be a seperate and new entry within the row fields.

The attached excel spreadsheets hopefully demonstrates clearly what I currently am viewing (tab 1) and what I want to be able to achieve with this (tab 2).

At present, I have adopted a 'Cyclic Group' process to the application where I am able to rotate the questions round in order to obtain the results I need.  However this isn't really the ideal outcome I was hoping for since I want to be able to show all of the data in a pivot table format which can than be transported across to Excel for further examination or for distribution.

Any help or advice would be gratefully received.

Thanks and regards, Mike.

19 Replies
mazacini
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Mike

There are a number of issues here. I'm not sure of I can get my head around each, but let me clarify the nature of the data firstly.